Mrs. Vogel's Language & Literature

Merrill Middle School

Friends With Boys

July9

51hPT1obBPL._SY344_PJlook-inside-v2,TopRight,1,0_SH20_BO1,204,203,200_

So, this was my first time reading a graphic novel and I can’t say I really loved it. I don’t want to judge all graphic novels on this one book, but I thought it was really hard getting to know the characters when their were so few lines to read. I did enjoy the element of art that the book added–the author is obviously talented–but it was hard for me to relate to the characters since I felt I didn’t know them that well. I also had a difficult time keeping them straight because I thought several of the boys looked alike. Overall, I would give the book a 5/10 but I don’t want to discourage you from reading it. It got excellent reviews, so maybe graphic novels just aren’t my thing! I do want to try a few more though…here are some that look good. Any other suggestions?

American Born Chinese coverbb625dec5495d2fbdfbbdb1e034a2d8c

 

download

 

by posted under Uncategorized | No Comments »    

You must be logged in to post a comment.


Skip to toolbar